Welcome to Loco’s Patronus

I’ve spoken about it several times and finally decided to get started on it! Welcome to Loco’s Patronus.

Strange name, I know. I suppose a brief explanation is in order.

For all of you not familiar with Potter-lore, a Patronus is a spell wizards conjure to ward off Dementors. Dementors are, as Remus Lupin put it:

Dementors

Dementors are among the foulest creatures that walk this earth. They infest the darkest, filthiest places, they glory in decay and despair, they drain peace, hope, and happiness out of the air around them… Get too near a Dementor and every good feeling, every happy memory will be sucked out of you. If it can, the Dementor will feed on you long enough to reduce you to something like itself…soulless and evil. You will be left with nothing but the worst experiences of your life.

Sounds pretty awful, right?

The other day, I was advising a student how to manage some of the negative energy she encountered in the office on a daily basis, and while doing so I got the idea for the name and purpose of this blog.

A Patronus, as I told my student, wards off Dementors. Here’s how Remus described them:

A Patronus is a kind of positive force, and for the wizard who can conjure one, it works something like a shield, with the Dementor feeding on it, rather than him. In order for it to work, you need to think of a memory. Not just any memory, a very happy memory, a very powerful memory… Allow it to fill you up… lose yourself in it… then speak the incantation “Expecto Patronum”.

Well, my idea is to let this blog act as my wand and my posts, that is my writing, act as a spell to ward off the negative energy that sometimes I feel threatens to consume me.

Drastic, I know. But, Loco’s gotta do what he’s gotta do.

I can feel the Dementors circling around and hovering over me, challenging my resolve, sucking at my confidence and optimism, draining me of the energy I need every drop of to achieve the goals I’ve set for myself.

I have so many projects underway now and I expect more to follow. Real life altering stuff. And, as much as I like teaching my kids, and blogging about the life-altering experience that living in Japan has been, these are only parts of my creative spirit. I have other gifts and talents that have yet to reach fruition. Loco the author, for one, as well as the entrepreneur, the producer, the motivational spirit, the leader…they all need to bask in the sunshine, as well. My Patronus, I believe, will help clear away some of the obstacles in my path.

This blog is about, at minimum, establishing balance (for total eradication of Dementor type energy is impossible) and at maximum, reducing the negative energy around me to a mere nuisance as opposed to the utter distraction is it now.

What can you expect to find here?

Well, as I mentioned in my interview, they’ll be VERY little if anything about Japan here. If that’s your interest, of course you should folow or continue following my posts at Loco in Yokohama. Loco in Yokohama has NOT been put on the back burner. But there will probably be a sharp decrease in posts, as you’ve probably noticed already if you follow it.

Here you’ll find what inspires me and what I believe will keep me on the path. Here I’ll be discussing anything that sets my fingers to jabbing at these keys, and hopefully you’ll find MOST of it to be empowering, useful, uplifting, inspirational and everything else short of sappy platitudes and, god-forbid, kumbaya-ish.

If you know Loco, then you know I hate that shit as much as you do…at least I hope you do 😉

I haven’t figured out a lot of things yet. Like theme and design, perhaps even a logo for this blog. I’ll be tweaking as I go along for sure. I was going to try to figure out everything before I got started but fuck that. Let’s get this show on the road! As with Loco in Yokohama, my focus will remain on content! The rest will sort itself out alomg the way.

Anyway, here we go folks! I don’t know about y’all but I’m hecka-excited. I got a good feeling about this!

So, with that said, I would like to formally welcome you all to the launch of Loco’s Patronus…feel free to comment.

I’m gonna celebrate a little tonight with a couple of shots of Patron (no pun intended)!

Thanks, in advance, for your support and posting vibes. Lord knows Loco needs them!

Peace

Loco

8 thoughts on “Welcome to Loco’s Patronus

  1. Rubi says:

    I look forward to some excellent reading!

  2. Badboy says:

    My new blog has given me a lot of therapy. Not a lot of readers but hey…fuck it! Look forward to following along on this journey

  3. Biggie says:

    looking forward! The header/photo/layout has a good vibe. Now go rocking.

  4. Ronnie6676 says:

    Have a shot for me…and I’m looking forward to reading what this new adventure inspires you to write.

  5. Alessia says:

    Ooh, Patronuses! 🙂 Love the title, it reminds me of my childhood love of Harry Potter… because we all need some imagination in our dull lives!
    Well, can’t wait to see your new posts… it’s a good thing to organize your posts’ intentions with two blogs, although I’ll miss the variety of topics your blog offered before.

  6. Bryn says:

    Imagine my surprise when my Google search for differences in tequila (know any really great margarita recipes?) led me to the blog of a black guy living in Japan! And in one my my favorite cities!

    I’ve really enjoyed what I’ve read so far (both here, and on your other blog), and look forwarding to reading more!

  7. Muza-chan says:

    Beautiful idea, Loco-sensei!

    I’ll follow your Patronus with great interest. Best of luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

