Never Leave Me (a poem)

 

She’s taking off her shoes
And as if for the first time
I watch her
Such loveliness
each movement yields
to her softly

love is overbearing
In this moment.
I miss her-
She will die someday
and I miss her already-
every day
I sing this song:

Oh woman, I rise
and set in your arms,
never leave me.
Your smile is my purpose
My joie de vivre
believe me-

She has fallen
fast asleep
As she does every night
Light breaths,
eye movements
She is peace-
Never leave me.

©2013 Baye McNeil

20130109-184540.jpg

2 thoughts on “Never Leave Me (a poem)

Leave a Reply

