My Life Story’s Soundtrack #1

I’m putting together a soundtrack for my life story (just for future reference….not dying or anything).

I’m imagining my story being told on film and what music is playing at different times of my life.
I got the idea last night, watching Tarantino’s “Jackie Brown” (with Pam Grier and Sam Jackson).

It’s much more difficult than I thought, trying to choose songs that truly compliment the time, my mental and emotional state, and continue to reverberate as audio triggers for feelings and memories.

So far I’ve come up with three songs from my childhood that make the cut. Interestingly they are all Jazz songs (You would think motown or funk would dominate)
They are:

Cristo Redentor by Donald Byrd

…and I’ve Known Rivers by Gary Bartz Ntu Troop

And lastly, Pharoah Sanders’ The Creator Has a Master Plan!

All three of these songs are capable of causing a flash flood of memories, and even overload. Sometimes I even need to re-boot my system after hearing them (which is a good thing most of the time) (-;

I’ll be adding more to this list as they come to me.

Making a soundtrack to your life is a useful exercise, like an expedition into your heart.

What do you think of these three? Am I off to a good start?

6 thoughts on “My Life Story’s Soundtrack #1

  1. I like the idea of this. Get’s me thinking about what my soundtrack would consist of…

  2. Locohama says:

    Oh cool, gotta peep those, on the #fatnessfirst tip (-; I just wrote a review too, for “Beasts of the Southern Wild”. Have you seen it? https://locospatronus.wordpress.com/2013/01/16/a-monstropolous-beast-a-book-movie-review/

  3. Sala says:

    I’m enjoy your soundtrack. I like the idea of having a soundtrack!

    • Locohama says:

      Thanks Sala (-: music from the struggle…never really appreciated it much when I was a kid. But it became a part of me nonetheless. Would love to hear your choices some time.

Leave a Reply

